Board of Directors

Anita Bachmann

Vice President of Business Development

United Healthcare Community and State

Robin Cummings, MD


University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Paul R. Cunningham, MD, FACS

Dean Emeritus and Senior Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs

Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University

Penney Burlingame Deal, DHA, RN, FACHE

President and Chief Executive Officer

Onslow Memorial Hospital

Laura S. Easton, RN, MSN

President and Chief Executive Officer

Caldwell Memorial Hospital

Leonard Ellis

Eben Concepts

Raymond J. Haigney, II, DDS

Lake Norman Oral & Facial Surgery

Keith Holtsclaw, FACHE

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer

Blue Ridge Regional Hospital

Sarah Jordan, PhD

Chair, Department of Nutrition and Health Care Management

Appalachian State University

Paul Malinda, MD

Emergency Room Physician

Alamance Regional Medical Center

Colonel, United States Army Reserves

Warren Newton, MD, MPH

Director, North Carolina AHEC Program

William B. Aycock Professor and Chair

Department of Family Medicine

University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Lawrence R. Nycum, MD,MMM

Senior Vice President of Medical Affairs

Novant Health – Forsyth Medical Center

Mark Payne, JD

Assistant Secretary for Audit and Health Service Regulation

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

Sy A. Saeed, MD


Department of Psychiatric Medicine

East Carolina University

Kim A. Schwartz, MA

Chief Executive Officer

Roanoke Chowan Community Health

Pam Shipman

Chief Innovation and Strategy Officer

Monarch Recruitment Ltd

Lisa Shock, MHS, PA-C

Physician Assistant/Healthcare Administrator

Network Development Official – CHESS

VP, Durham Orange County Medical Society

Patricia A. Skinner, PhD


Gaston College

David Sousa

Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel

Medical Mutual Insurance Company of North Carolina

Kevin W. Sowers, RN, MSN, FAAN

President and Chief Executive Officer

Duke University Hospital

Phillip E. Tarte, MHA

Health Director

New Hanover County Division of Public Health

Board of Directors
Meeting Minutes